Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

VW Coolbox problems

COAST22

COAST22

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Coast 150
Hi, I recently set and hooked up to the mains after a 5 hour drive. The Coolbox worked for 24 hours then the fridge turned itself off. It would not go back on. I checked the 12v socket and 12v power cable fuse - no problems. When I got home today the fridge worked on the 12v socket!!!

Am I mistaken about this? I thought once connected to 240v the fridge would run directly from this?

Any ideas/comments welcome.

John

Hi John,
I have a 2014 Beach with the cool box I am new to this so I can only give you my experience so far.
I was a little confused over the cool box. so this is what I have experienced so far
the cool box runs and cuts out when the battery gets to a certain level this prevents any damage to the battery.
it will not work again until the engine re-charges the battery or the battery is fully charged by the hook up.
after the battery is discharged the cooler will not work from the hook up even after a full night hooked up.
it only works again after the engine has started.
so my thinking was if you want to run the cool box on hook up you would need a transformer 240 to 12 volt and run the coll box from this when on hook up I am going to try this next.
just one other point I have found is it is very easy to switch the cool box from the cool setting to the warm setting and not realize you have done it. this has resulted in me having to barbecue 4 days worth of food and throw away all my salad gear plus the ribbing I had to take from my wife.

regards gear box oil

Hi,
Thanks for the info. I have used it on hookup in the past and it has worked for ten days without starting the engine. I think I will get VW to have a look and comment. If I get any useful info I will add it to the thread. Cheers, John

thanks John I will be interested to hear the dealer comments

Regards,
gear box oil