Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Solution for bellows getting damaged - Bellows Bungee

shaker7 said:
Nice to meet everybody. first time for me here.
this is a simple and brilliant solution I see.
what about for people like me less brilliant that got both bellow and rubber stripe damaged? :headbang
what's in your opinion best solution to repair it? thanks to everybody
Max

Hi Max, I'm no expert on Cali things as illustrated above when I couldn't even get the bungee fitting right. However, I'm a bit better at the domestic sewing side of things.
For years, Scout and Guide canvas tents were mended with patches of canvas till they just about resembled a patchwork. When the canvas gets wet, any needle and thread holes tighten up again. If I were you I would search for a traditional tent/sail repairer for a matching piece of canvas and use with strong thread. Curved needles are also available which would save trying to pass a needle back and forth to someone on the inside of the bellows. I think a repair would barely be noticed once the bungee was in place.
Others may have better ideas.

I agree with you, but what it is scaring me is the rib section. not sure if putting an horizontal sticker to cover the damage should create problems for the bellow refolding (would be crossing)..
unfortunately the scissors cut also the rubber piece..

Regretably I have just encountered a similar issue. Can I ask what you settled on as the best solution as I now need to tread the same path!
thanks Jonnie

This is a must for every owner.
Its simple and works. It might not look great but its worth it just to know it will always pull the canvas in.

Hi,