Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Camping Equipment List

jonesey

jonesey

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180
Hi all,

As a complete beginner to Cali's and motorhome camping I've got a few ideas about what camping bits I need to buy to equip our Cali but would love any suggestions and ideas that we could maybe turn into a sticky beginners list (like the do's and don'ts). Unless it's been done before that is but I can't find a thread.

So I've got ideas like:

Mains lead
Long water hose
Mobile mains kit?
Camping Pots and pans
Camping toaster
Kettle
Cutlery
Rug or carpet for floor
Storage boxes
Portable loo
Converters (plug/mains converters?)
Mattress toppers
Mattress bag
Carbon monoxide detector

etc!

Cheers
Chris

Hi Chris. What's a mobile mains kit :?:

Hi Chris

One of my best buys, Remoska cooker from Lakeland
Raskel duvet
Emergency kit if traveling in France etc
Storage boxies
Fire extinguisher
Side screens for your awning
Torch

And the list goes on and on and on

Kevin

Cheers, good suggestions!

Calikev - a mains kit is just a mains hook up cable that terminates with uk 3 pin plugs and not into the van. Saw it on gooutdoors.com

jonesey said:
Cheers, good suggestions!

Calikev - a mains kit is just a mains hook up cable that terminates with uk 3 pin plugs and not into the van. Saw it on gooutdoors.com

Got you :thumb

carbon monoxide detector - is this important? I heard that the gas bottle was safe and there are 2 switches to turn it off. As for the van heater, does the window have to be open a little if the roof top is closed?
I haven't started my camping list yet, is there anywhere where you can get fitted sheets for the mattress for both below and above?

if sleeping with the roof down i would always open a front window a touch. slept in it all closed up and in the morning there was not enough oxegyn to light a match.

Help with water hose please.
How long?
Which fitting for the tap end?
Which fitting for the Cali end?