Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

What’s included, what to buy ASAP?

Ian Maddocks

Ian Maddocks

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 199 4 motion
Hi all,

I’ve got my Ocean on order and the wife, myself and 2 meduim dogs maybe going away for a week directly after picking her up.

So to prepare I’d like to know what’s included from the VW and what I need to buy. FYI I’m new to camping so don’t have garage full of outdoor kit.

Here’s the list of items I think I need for a week away (will be close enough to civilisation to not worry about food etc), please let me know if I’ve missed anything.

Items included with new Cali Ocean:
  1. Draw under sink & Cutlery tray
  2. Downstairs mattress
  3. Upstairs mattress
  4. Leisure batteries
Mandatory items to buy:
  1. Gas bottle
  2. Water filling pipe
  3. Kettle for gas hob
  4. EHU cable
  5. Leveling ramps
  6. Drive away awning
  7. Drive away 6mm keder kit
  8. EU 2 pin mains adapter for inverter plug
  9. Cigarette lighter USB plugs
  10. Chopping board
  11. Dustpan & brush
  12. Bin / bags
  13. Cheap seat covers (given dogs)
  14. Bottle opener!
Items that can be borrowed from home to start:
  1. Crockery & cups (china rather than plastic)
  2. Cutlery
  3. Glasses (fragile as not plastic)
  4. Pots & pans
  5. Salt/pepper/ketchup
  6. Bedding (assuming size of double)
  7. Washing up kit
  8. Towels etc
Thoughts on:
  1. Sofa pillows
  2. Non-slip covers / protection of fridge/hob/sink
Etiquette questions:
  • Is it frowned upon drive back into the campsite at ~10 pm after leaving campsite to go to a restaurant
  • If campsite spacing not laid out, how much distance to leave between neighbours
Many thanks for your experience & help.

We still don't have any of these......
  1. Drive away awning
  2. Drive away 6mm keder kit
I do have these, but rarely use them...
  1. EU 2 pin mains adapter for inverter plug
  2. Dustpan & brush
Thoughts on:
  1. Sofa pillows. Don't have any.