Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

I don't want my new 'Cali' to be another VW guarantee claim

stephen

stephen

VIP Member
I'm taking delivery of my new California in a weeks time, I've  heard on the 'Facebook Californian club' some time back, that most of the problems people have these vehicles, are  people simply not knowing how to treat them, when you first get acquainted with them, and things start breaking off,  if you're not too careful, 
 Is this true?
and if so,
 what sort of things do you think I need to be careful of. Considering I have had no previous experience with these sorts of vehicles?
And my previous vehicle was a 'Landrover defender. 2.4 SX 90'.....

Any suggestions greatly appreciated. ;)

Re: I don't want my new 'Cali' to be another VW guarantee cl

One of the most important things to remember is when lowering the roof make sure the air in the van can escape
ie open a window or the side door otherwise the roof bellows are forced out catching the canvas in the roof mechanism
I always just poke my head up to make sure the canvas bellows inwards. Oh and don't force anything.
Good luck

Welcome! Guess what we sold to part fund our California? A 2.4 110 defender xs! Ours was a bit of a pain to be honest.

I'd second the above - take care with the roof and also watch for the diesel particulate filter light. If it comes on, drive at least 15 mins at a decent speed to clear it. Ignore it and it will break expensively and its not covered under warranty.

They're actually really well built and not all that delicate but they are complicated simply by the fact that everything is so tightly packed into the vehicle and there are so many features!

Try and get a decent handover from the dealer - try everything. Open the cupboard doors, move the seats, put the roof up, put the beds down etc. When you get home, read the manual.