Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Electric kettle or camping/gas kettle?

C

CSaville

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
Hi there,

Newbie here awaiting arrival of out T6 Ocean.

Kettle is the 1st essential bit of kit for us as coffee lovers, and a dog walk always has to start and end with a coffee.

What have people found better and easier to use on every day basics as seen a range of different types of kettles- gas , electric or even proper coffee machines.

Bit confused about access to electricity in the campervan...is there a normal plug socket that you can attach an extension lead to and can have all the luxuries of usual plugs so therefore an electric kettle? Also is the electricity available all the time? How do you charge it up, do you have to have an electrical hook up at home?

Many thanks.

You have one 230v 3pin socket at the end of the kitchen unit that works when the Cali is connected to an electric hookup point on a campsite, so you will need a hookup lead for starters approx 20m long. We use a lightweight camping kettle for the gas stove and a small mains kettle for when we are on hookup. We also use a small 4 way socket extension to give us more sockets.

You 100% need a hob kettle for the gas. If you have spare space, and want to save pennies on gas when you've paid to hook up on site, then a low wattage elec travel type kettle is handy.
It's likely you won't have spare space so I'd just go with the hob gas kettle.

The idea with a Cali is to buy things that serve more than purpose, not to take 2 items to do the same job.

If you read the manual you'l find there is a 220v socket on the side of the kitchenunit , this can be used for your expressomachine but only if you are on hook-up that provides enough amp. witch on some sites is not even enough to boil water in a electric boiler.
On the lesurebattery's you will not get to plug in gear that uses more than 150w
Guess you best invest in a ketlle and a campingaz 907