Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Does £800 sound about right including new loom to fix roof sensor issue?

DOMINICGG1234

DOMINICGG1234

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hi all. Been qu’outra the above for a new loom inc three hours labour to fix issue where I keep getting warnings the roof is open. 2012 SE.

I have no mechanical knowledge so couldn’t do it myself.

Does this sound about right?

Thanks in advance

There’s no need to change the loom, can be done considerably cheaper.

Loom replacement feels like overkill unless there is any damage or issue with the existing loom.

Hi all. Been qu’outra the above for a new loom inc three hours labour to fix issue where I keep getting warnings the roof is open. 2012 SE.

Thanks in advance
The VW Approved method of repair is Loom replacement as the wiring loom has the sensors built in. Others have been quoted in excess of £1200.
The cheapest repair is DIY replacement of just the sensors. Next is Sensor replacement using an Autoelectrician. Kernow Transporters, in Cornwall can replace the sensors OR bypass them and fit a Remote Control unit for about £500.

Thanks in advance
Was this a VW dealer? The reason I ask is I had this done on my 2012 SE about 2yrs ago. VW said I had to buy the whole loom, they then cut 2 sensors off it and replaced the 2 damaged ones - that was about £800. To replace the whole loom was into the £1000’s. I wanted to do it myself but the roof was locked down and didn’t have the confidence to run 12v to the motor separately. One of those things that you got to get repaired. My only regret was them not asking me if I wanted to replace all 4 which would’ve made sense.
Good luck

Sorry link is to a new loom on a german website + £215

There’s no need to change the loom, can be done considerably cheaper.
Thanks I’ve seen this but sadly I don’t have the space, time, tools or knowledge