Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Charging electric longboards

Listersbox

Listersbox

Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hi everyone!
Just looking for a bit of advice for charging a couple of electric longboards.
I've included a pic of the charger for input and output power info.
I have a couple of solar panels and would love to be able to charge up these bad boys in the van.

Is it possible to get a 12v adaptor lead for these units?

Or would it be better to get one of those big old power banks that have plug sockets built in and charge that?

Literally any info would be amazing!!

Thank you!!

Andy
fbce4128cb69e2fd2ac700f1ea75f95b.jpg
b7d485dab74519c7a7d97971df4f055f.jpg

There are a few qualified folks on here who will be better able to comment.

I am no electrician but that appears to be a 42v output, I've never seen a 12v to 42v inverter/converter and a quick search turned up nothing of use. Doesnt mean its not out there but may be hard to find.

You could try a 240v inverter, but converting the 12v to 240v to 42v may not be very efficient. Input required is 240v at 2amps which would mean 480watts of power? The built in inverter won't be upto that. That would need a heavy duty inverter for that and may strain your battery (if it was possible). Someone more qualified may be able to confirm that as mine is an uneducated guess..

(Output is 42v at 2amps = 84 watts).

Very interested in what these powered long boards are!!

I had to look up "powered longboard"....

I had visions of scandinavian visitors wearing helmets with horns, then read "longboards" not longships.

Sadly I can't help with charging. Odin will have to wait ....:shocked

There are a few qualified folks on here who will be better able to comment.

I am no electrician but that appears to be a 42v output, I've never seen a 12v to 42v inverter/converter and a quick search turned up nothing of use. Doesnt mean its not out there but may be hard to find.