Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

T4 California night Heater help please

J

Junglemod

Hi
I'm having trouble getting my heater to operate . It's a 91 model if that makes a difference ?
The didital readout flashes 00j ?
No buttons underneath alter that in any way
The two way rocker switch brings on the fan and green light illuminates but not heat ?
Have also altered the dial to the large segments once fan has been running for a time ?
Is there anyone who might be able to shed some light on this please to get it working now the weather has started to tuns a little colder ?
Cheers in advance

Hi junglemod,

I'm not an expert on the diesel heater, but on mine, the right-hand display is only if you want to program the heater to come on when you are away from the van.( any other time, I have a blank display )

To turn on the heater, switch rocker switch to the right ( wavy lines, green LED comes on ). The dial seems to make little difference, so I tend to leave it half-way?

Some times I find the buttons have accidentally been pressed on the programmer, ( normally wake up in the middle of the night, with heater running flat-out ) By pressing the centre button ( red wavy lines ) it will stop and the display goes blank again.

I have a badly translated sheet on how to program the heater. If you think it will help you, I'm willing to scan it and email it to you.

Cheers, Paul.

Ps, I believe the heater controls were lifted straight out of the T3 california, so you might get more info from the brickyard forum.

Hi
Cheers for that ill give it a whirl , might of been a little impatient as in a rush to get packed up for this weekend .
Ill try see if I get any heat from it if I leave it running for a time .
Cheers again
Steve

mine can take quite a while to produce heat.

Can you hear clicking from underneath the van? The fuel pump is quite noisy.