Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

New owner and new member

R

Robbofromleeds

Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 199
Hello I'm new to all this. bought a new Cali Ocean 199 in Acapulco blue in June this year. going to live the dream hopefully living up in a small village near Hadrian's Wall they call this the middle of Britain.Getting to know the cali well got a big list of gear to buy. been on a couple of trips so far and loved every minute of it.Just got one problem the leisure battery under the seat is getting warm was hot to touch on one trip when on electric hookup but checked rear battery that's cool is this normal? tried it at home and the same thing happens.

Hello I'm new to all this. bought a new Cali Ocean 199 in Acapulco blue in June this year. going to live the dream hopefully living up in a small village near Hadrian's Wall they call this the middle of Britain.Getting to know the cali well got a big list of gear to buy. been on a couple of trips so far and loved every minute of it.Just got one problem the leisure battery under the seat is getting warm was hot to touch on one trip when on electric hookup but checked rear battery that's cool is this normal? tried it at home and the same thing happens.
Hi Robbo, :welcome

a battery that gets hot is probably faulty, warm is ok, hot would imply the plates have failed.
Not wanting to alarm you, batteries can fail dramatically causing fire.

contact your dealer to note your safety concern ( in writing) & arrange for the both leisure batteries to be replaced under warranty.

Good practice regarding leisure batteries, should be to replace in pairs, where one or more batteries are link together.

the dealer had as duty of care once you report as a potential safety issue, to act swiftly to prevent further issue.

good luck, report back after your contact with the dealer ( to assist others)

:welcome Ideally placed for many adventures there Ian, pics of your Cali please.