Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

New Ocean with Electric Sliding Door...

RetroRed5

RetroRed5

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
Afternoon all,

I'm a total newbie here so please excuse my lack of knowledge if this question is a bit daft.

We are close to ordering our first Ocean; been back and forth a lot with the spec and had the dealer run the numbers for me a few times and I thought I was settled on the spec I wanted; however, just one minor question popped up earlier (via another forum post) and that is about the electric sliding door option.

So my question is, with an electric sliding door, does it have to be either fully open or fully closed? Can the door be left partially open?

My reasoning for choosing the electric sliding door option is because we have hired many T6's/T5's in the past (not the Cali) and our youngest has often had trouble opening/closing the side door even with power latching and so we thought the electric sliding door would solve that issue.

Thanks.

I had an electric door and as I remember, all or nowt.

Go for a non electric, non power latching.
The manual door is spot on and I think quieter opening and closing late at night on a campsite.

Go for a non electric, non power latching.
The manual door is spot on and I think quieter opening and closing late at night on a campsite.
Don’t think the Ocean is available in manual. I suppose you could put some tape over the contacts! :D

Thanks both for your input.

We've hired a VDub bus (mainly Shuttles) for years and most did'nt not have power latching and my youngest really struggled to get the doors to shut first time; I remember watching him trying to shut the door and it would often sort of bounce open a little without actually shutting because he was not able to give it enough heave-ho when he shut it; he usually got it on the 2nd attempt though but with quite a slam; the conversation would normally go something like this...