Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Need educating

S

Shake n Bake

Vehicle
Looking to buy
Hi,

I am sure there is a post here somewhere that I am failing to locate......as a total newbie who thinks an Ocean could be the answer to getting to kids out camping, I am looking for a resource that describes the pro's and con's of different trim levels and new versus used etc.

Right now, myself, the wife and kids (17,12,8) go camping just once a year for 3 nights with a big group. The wife and the eldest are my big fans but I love it. However the 3 hour ordeal of packing away a truly enormous tent and every conceivable convenience item is enough to put me off doing it more regularly.

I have it in my head that the Ocean would mean I could spontaneously bundle the younger two kids into the van and head off for random 1 or 2 nights away, where we just park and we are good to go. No tiresome setup and when we are ready to go, it's 10 mins to pack away.

Should all 5 of us go, a little popup tent with air bed should sort us out.

Question 1: is the above scenario wishful thinking or blissful reality?

Next, when contemplating new or used, I could only afford new if I did away with my main car. So I would have to do 15-20,000 miles a year for the next 2 years (or however long it really takes Elon Musk to deliver the Tesla Model 3), after which it would become my 2nd car.

Question 2: does the T6 offer a lot of benefit over earlier models?
Question 3: is it comfortable on long journeys (my 5 series estate eats up the motorway miles with ease)?

When looking at used adverts, there we some lovely and custom looking examples.

Question 4: is it generally considered better to buy factory or to get the van she'll and customise?

MANY THANKS if you've made it all the way through my long, long first post and I would appreciate any advice!!

Shake.

What you have suggested is perfectly possible.