Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

How seriously should I take VW dealer's 'urgent' advice after a Healthcheck?

RobertCalifornia

RobertCalifornia

Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Coast 150
I've taken my 3 year old van (under 5 year warranty) in for an oil change today and they have done a complimentary healthcheck. It's come back with a few 'urgents'.

I have zero technical knowledge so would be inclined to follow their advice and get the work done, but I have seen some threads on here suggesting that VW dealers sometimes suggest doing work when it isn't really necessary.

Any advise on whether to proceed or not? The 'urgent' they've suggested is the front brake pads which are 75% worn (which does, even to someone with my limited knowledge sound quite important!) following a visual check. There's an amber on brake fluid being overdue.

Thanks in advance.

They insisted on swapping my brake fluid at the 2 year service last year too, regardless of the low mileage. So I guess if its deemed to be changed every 2 years, that is were their logic is coming from. I had a service plan, but the brake fluid wasn't included.

I have taken my 3 year old, 50k miles van into an independent garage for its first MOT today. They looked it up in the system and advised getting the brake fluid changed. The MOT came back with an advisory on front disk pads wearing out.

Sounds like you have been told the same as me. I'm getting the work done, but not at VW.

I fell for that on a Caddy once. When I questioned how it was done they admitted it’s only the residual in the reservoir they swap as opposed to bleeding it through the entire system.
In other words, about as pointless as it gets!

I've taken my 3 year old van (under 5 year warranty) in for an oil change today and they have done a complimentary healthcheck. It's come back with a few 'urgents'.