Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Hanover trip; route and where to stay.

Bobbybus

Bobbybus

Learning how to be a hedonist...
VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
There are many of us going on the Hanover trip this April. What route are people planning to take? Where are you intending to stop? Selfishly, I'm thinking it would be good for some of us to travel together as I have little experience of driving in Europe (only in Estonia) and certainly no experience of using the California abroad.
I'll probably be going down to Dover to take the tunnel route over to Calais; Dover may be a good place to meet.

I'm up for that. Going on the tunnel more than likely. I have not decided yet whether to overnight and get any early train in the morning or get into France / Belguim and overnight there before driving to Hanover.

Many diffrent routes from Calais to Hannover.

France-luxemburg-Germany
Or come over Belgium ...

Those who are arriving the mainland via Holland i advise to plan in a stop at Amersfoort !
I keep repeating myself CCN ,
http://www.campercentrumnederland.nl/
Is a must see when travelling thru Holland!

Last edited:
I have received confirmation from the campsite at Birkensee near Hanover for the nights of 17th and 18th April. I have 9 days off with my wife to do this trip, so I was thinking of travelling down from Leeds on Sat 15th to Dover (or close by) resting overnight and then getting the train through the tunnel early on Sun and overnighting on route again between France and the camp site at Birkensee, Germany. I don't know where.
Monday and Tuesday at Birkensee then loads of time to see some sights on the way home, but again, don't know where.