Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

California Electrics

D

Dave Wickham

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
Hi
I am no vehicle electrician but when the leisure batteries are charging from the alternator (G in the control display) why does it show 12.5 V but a negative amp rating (varies from -18A to -6A for example). Is this something to do with current flowing OUT of the leisure batteries?
Thanks

Hi
I am no vehicle electrician but when the leisure batteries are charging from the alternator (G in the control display) why does it show 12.5 V but a negative amp rating (varies from -18A to -6A for example). Is this something to do with current flowing OUT of the leisure batteries?
Thanks
Yes, it’s a function of the Blue Motion technology, which off loads the alternator under some conditions.
You can override this temporarily by turning on the headlights and/ or heated seats, this prevents the leisure batteries discharging when the engine is running, the current on the display remains positive.

Thanks but what do you mean by 'offloads the alternator'? Does this discharging by the leisure batteries cause any damage?

Thanks but what do you mean by 'offloads the alternator'? Does this discharging by the leisure batteries cause any damage?
It doesn’t damage them, it just limits their charge to a maximum of 80%.
When the alternator is under load it is powering systems, when it’s not under load the leisure batteries are used to power the systems instead.
Off loading the alternator can reduce fuel consumption.

Thanks again for the lesson. But when you are driving the alternator powers things like the headlights, it wouldn't be the leisure batteries (I know it charges the leisure batteries). Does it mean the fridge (which would be the only device possibly on when driving) would be powered by the alternator unless the leisure batteries drop below 80%??