Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Scissor jack wheel change

Alan

Alan

Vehicle
T5 SE 180
I have been putting off changing a slow puncture for 6 months on the van. Main reasons being, fearing having problem with wheel holding fast on hub, and using the scissor jack which has had some negative posts on the forum.
After a quick look in the hand book on the supplied jack I got started on loosening the wheel nuts.
Drove the motor forward and backwards aplining brake pressure ( as previously recommend by a forum member, thank you )
Jacked the offending wheel up, the jack performed above my expectations :)
Removed wheel nuts, mallet standing by I proceeded to pull off wheel.
Couldn't believe my luck, the wheel came off so easy inspite of heavy rust marks on the hub where the wheel mates, indicating the dreaded wheel stick
Spare put on, as with the kettle ;)

Alan

Why didn't you just take it to the garage?

Good question Kev
I thought it would be a good exercise in case I would be caught out in the middle of nowhere some day,anyway that would have been the easy way out :)

We have had two punctures in the Cali, one slow one out of the blue over night fully flat. Both pumped up with the little compressor I carry in the van, and then driven to closest tyre centre and let them take off and repair. If I had to change a wheel in the middle of nowhere and in the unlikely event could not get it off would put the kettle on call VW assist. Our wheels are swopped over twice a year winter wheels on and off so loosened regularly, however sometimes they take some getting off.

Good question Kev
I thought it would be a good exercise in case I would be caught out in the middle of nowhere some day,anyway that would have been the easy way out :)
Yes good point it always happens when your away from home

Can i ask , what do you mean by " drove the motor forward and backwards....."?