Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Flexible light

John

John

VIP Member
Original post raynormer

The flexible arm on the interior light has broken at the mounting plate, has anyone else had this problem or am I just unlucky. Is it a part I can order off VW and fit myself. Any advice would be appreciated.

Original post Calikev

Hi I have had no experience of the light breaking but I'm sure
I read somewhere of a replacement hopefully someone will be on here soon to help you

Original post raynormor

Thanks for your help, I am waiting to hear from VW at SMG, in the meantime I will follow the leads you have posted, not the only leads I'll be following when I dismantle it tomorrow. sorry for the pun.

Original post johntowers46

Company is Conrad electronis uk.
part number is 852797-89

john towers

Original post raynormor

Thanks John, sorry for the delay in answering but I've had a minor op and been otherwise preoccupied. I have now bought one off conrad, it cost £20 inc post and looks easy to fit. a quick look at the one I've removed and it may be repairable if i can release the adhesive and unscrew the spiral wound sleeve, so thanks again for your help. Ray

Original post brother10

I replaced mine on previous van (replacement sent under warranty). Despite great care, taping off the two wires, managed to short it and other lights out when fitting the new one. The blown fuse was red 5amp situated in the wost possible position under the passenger seat. The use of some extremely strong old English seemed to help when replacing. Just take care.

Bob

Original post raymormor

Thanks for that Bob. an isolator would have been useful. I wondered if I would find a connector when I remove the mounting plate - sound unlikely if you fused the light. They sent connector clips with the replacement so at least I won't have to strip the wires.
Cheers Ray