Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Saving for a few years, hoping to buy over the winter.

P

PhillipGlas

VIP Member
Vehicle
Looking to buy
I have been saving for a camper for a few years. If I remember correctly (not always a given....), when I last looked at Cali prices approx 4 or 5 years ago, they seemed to start at around 25k, a 5 year old beach could be had for less than 30k and a similar age California for a little more.
Now, having got around that saved (thank you redundancy!), I was a bit deflated when I went to see what I could get for 30 to 35k! A few years ago £35k would have got a decent 5 year old Ocean, now they seem to be around £45-50k.

So, if you didn't have a camper, had £35k to spend and in no rush to get one, what would you do? Opinions on if / when the prices will drop? Get a beach?

Given it has taken me this long to save and im not 'flush', id be really annoyed if I bought before the prices drop significantly (if they do).

Bide your time. Once planes start flying, people will be off to sunnier climes rather than wet fields in the UK. There are some pretty uncertain headwinds to be navigated in the economy. The supply issue will sort itself out, by which time demand could have dropped significantly. You know what happens to prices then.

To tell the truth nobody has a clue to what will happen. You can guess all you like then still get it wrong. Will inflation go through the roof? Will wages soar? Will prices drop? Well no not if VW keeps increasing prices twice a year. You may be lucky but that’s not actual owners want to hear, they want them to continue rising. You are coming into the market at a very bad time. The best time to buy a used camper is in the Winter if it’s left till spring then it’s normally too late ... Good luck in whatever you decide.

Is the current premium on 5 to 6 year old California's approx nearly 10k?