Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Rust - cab door sill

S

SWall

Vehicle
T4 PopTop
I have a rust patch that has developed on the cab door sill. I am a newbie T4 owner and not treated any rust before. Any advice on how to have a go at this little spot would be much appreicated. Be good to learn so I can tackle other areas which will inevitable develop! Cheers

IMG_20220224_120426.jpg

I have a rust patch that has developed on the cab door sill. I am a newbie T4 owner and not treated any rust before. Any advice on how to have a go at this little spot would be much appreicated. Be good to learn so I can tackle other areas which will inevitable develop! Cheers

View attachment 89558
It looks very much like it has actually corroded right through. Can you confirm wether it has or not as this makes a big difference to the way it’s repaired.

View attachment 89558
It looks likely that there is a hole in the metal, if you poke it with a screw driver and a hole goes through then the only proper way to fix it is to have it cut out and a patch welded in. If there is no hole, it does look like it will eventually head that way but you could prolong it a bit by sanding with some 80 grit paper getting it as shiney as possible. Try to keep the rubbing local because it will mark a large area of paint if you spread out. Once it's sanded you could use some kurust on it from Halfords. It's called rust killer, it won't kill the rust but it might protect the metal for a bit. Once that's dry you can use some touch up paint to paint it back in as best as you can. Alternatively if you feel more adventurous you could mask the area, use an aerosol primer. Rub that down with 400 paper then an aerosol of the correct ( or close ) colour to paint it in. If you do that though make sure the masking tape stays back from the edge as much as possible or you will see it from outside when the door is shut.