Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Leisure battery question.

J

Joncali2023!!

Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 150
I have my tailgate and side door open and nothing else is turned on.
Any idea what’s using 6Amps?

IMG_3443.jpeg

Nothing - that is amps into the batteries, not out - assume your engine is running or you are plugged in?

Nothing - that is amps into the batteries, not out - assume your engine is running or you are plugged in?
Silly me, yes engine is running. I thought it was Amps being used by the battery ? As usually it’s -1A when nothing is on.

-1 is the power used for the screen to show you -1.
So any figure showing - (minus) is being used. And any other figure (6A) is what’s going into the battery?

Sorry I’m a novice , only picked the Cali up last week.

So any figure showing - (minus) is being used. And any other figure (6A) is what’s going into the battery?

Sorry I’m a novice , only picked the Cali up last week.
Generally. A lot of people think the monitor is an exact science but in reality is fluctuates and tries to make a best guess.

Anything that is a negative is a "draw" on the leisures - fridge, lights, anything in a 12V behind the cabin seats, heater.

Anything that is a positive is charging them so alternator if running, EHU (which also trickle charges your starter)or in our case a solar panel.

The fridge for example when you first put it on is a large draw as it's effectively got to go from room temp down to fridge temp. When this happens the screen can show only 12H of battery left, which is true, if the fridge had to keep pulling that much out constantly. It does not though - once at operating temp it switches off and then fluctuates as it goes on an off to maintain the temp, at which time it will go back to a much more sensible number like 36+H. Same for heater - when the glows are on it goes back down, once the cabin at the temperature set, on and off, back to normal.