Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Gas bottle refill in Scandinavia

Eber123

Eber123

Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
Grand California 600
Dear all,

Our Grand California came with the Truma Gas Heating, with the 2x 11kg propane cylinders in the back.

In general that is no problem, but I believe that the refilling of the propane cylinders have to be a part of the travel planning for our trip to Scandinavia in 2022. I have read that in all three countries Sweden, Norway and Finland it might not be that easy to get the bottles refilled. We plan to start the journey mid May for about 7x weeks, going up to the Northcap. I can imagine that we need, especially up in the North, overnight heating. So far I have no experience how much propane gas will be used if heating is on overnight. At the moment I feel that there is a high usage, but for some testing and checking I took out the cylinders several time. I believe each time there will be some propane used.

Obviously there are any gas connector standards so I will check for adapters for Irish / UK propane cylinder and what is needed to connect them for refill in Scandinavian countries.

I was wondering for people who have done this trip before and relying on propane cylinders for heating and warm water what were your experience about this? I am grateful for any tips and information.

Happy hopefully warm Grand California,
Eberhard

Dear all,

Our Grand California came with the Truma Gas Heating, with the 2x 11kg propane cylinders in the back.