Engine brake,DSG

CYCLOPATH

CYCLOPATH

Vehicle
T5 SE 180
i am still learning about my gearbox.
When going down hill, it goes into coast
Which I really like, quiet and smooth
But when I brake , it drops into a lower gear, revs more and works as an engine brake.
On a steep 1 in 4, like Porlock hill , I understand,
But , for example , coming off Exmoor , a fast 1 in 6.... I managed 50 mph on my bike in the summer, .
As soon as I braked, it dropped to third. I didn't even need to use the brake
This seems wasteful, and noisy
So I have been dropping it into neutral , and coasting, and braking gently

My question
Am I doing wrong
I have a 180 with the massive discs at the front.

A previous post mentioned choosing between wrecking the engine , or Wearing out the discs.
My choice would be disk, unless there is something I don't know

My cali is a tiptronic so I know nothing about the dsg but I would've thought it was pretty dangerous to drop it into neutral regardless of hill gradient.
For me, I leave it in auto for minor hills but drop it into manual for anything more than that as I want the engine braking

Sent from my Galaxy S6

Why dangerous.
I have been doing it for the last thousand miles with no problems

I have been doing it in my manual car for the last 5 years
And was really pleased when I found the coast function on the DSG in my Cali.
It drops into neutral .......as long as you arnt breaking

Why dangerous.
I have been doing it for the last thousand miles with no problems

I have been doing it in my manual car for the last 5 years
And was really pleased when I found the coast function on the DSG in my Cali.
It drops into neutral .......as long as you arnt breaking
Have you switched the "Coast" function on. You shouldn't drop the DSG box into neutral. The gear boxes will take time to switch to the appropriate gear when you put into D. Use the Coast function instead.