Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

DSG gearbox and 'Sport Mode'

jillyfish

jillyfish

Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 150
Just called dealer and our Cali is being shipped... so not long now. I have a feeling that we are to be on here asking endless questions for a long time to come. But finding the forum just so fantastic for so many things. When we hired cali at the weekend, having never driven auto before, asked what the 'S' was for and guy said he didnt know, but that we didnt need it. Fine. However just seen mention of it as the sport mode and understand that it might be used in testing road conditions, i.e. hills and bends, but that it is not an economical option. Being that i am complete novice, intend to just put in drive, reverse and park, not sure when would use neutral or sport. I will check out the video clip have seen on here as well. basically what i am asking is - should i just ignore these options when driving or will S help tremendously when doing bendy hilly country lanes, providing more control of vehicle? thanks.

Just called dealer and our Cali is being shipped... so not long now. I have a feeling that we are to be on here asking endless questions for a long time to come. But finding the forum just so fantastic for so many things. When we hired cali at the weekend, having never driven auto before, asked what the 'S' was for and guy said he didnt know, but that we didnt need it. Fine. However just seen mention of it as the sport mode and understand that it might be used in testing road conditions, i.e. hills and bends, but that it is not an economical option. Being that i am complete novice, intend to just put in drive, reverse and park, not sure when would use neutral or sport. I will check out the video clip have seen on here as well. basically what i am asking is - should i just ignore these options when driving or will S help tremendously when doing bendy hilly country lanes, providing more control of vehicle? thanks.