Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Busy Campsites

M

muttley

Guest User
I went to book a site near Kettering for this weekend, and couldn't find a single site or CL which wasn't fully booked. So, I widened the net to Northampton and beyond but still couldn't find anything.

Now, we only picked up the Cali last September, and I have never camped in my life, so I have no experience of how busy campsites are in peak periods. I had assumed that they would be busy, and maybe full in really touristy areas, but not fully booked across the whole country. No offence to Kettering, but I don't think anyone would describe that as a tourist spot (I have a meeting to attend there).

I am now a bit disillusioned, as for me the whole point of the Cali is to be able to look at the weather forecast on a Friday, and head off at the last minute for the weekend. Perhaps other, more experienced owners can reassure me that this is not going to be the story from now until September (with the exception of Calis on the farm of course!!).

Simon

I know it's not a cl site you could try Wicksteed park they will fit you in. You could pop and say hello as I am doing a car boot with the kids on sun :thumb

Yup Wicksteed will normally fit you in... and a good spot for the weekend.

Have you tried the CL at Stoke Bruerne? Just off J15 M1? Next to the canal and a decent pub.

A bit of sunshine and the bank holiday is likely to make this one of the busiest of the year as people are desperate to get away early.

Rgds
M

"proper" campsites have got busier and busier over the last few years. We have struggled to book places even in the depths of winter (when admittedly, there are a lot less sites open). That said, I think it would be unusual not to find somewhere that'll slot a little van in - or even a cheeky layby for a one night stop.

Calikev said: