Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Booked a rental for the first time

18ME

18ME

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 204
Good morning,

My partner and I are renting a VW Camper in June for three days.

I’ve never thought about getting one until recently and can’t think what made me start looking or even thinking about them as I’ve always been into cars and staying in hotels or villas abroad. I was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer in Nov 21 and had a Prostatectomy in Feb last year and now currently cancer free, just have to have the normal PSA test every three months. Anyway this may be the reason for the sudden desire to do different things, or it could simply be because I’m getting old What is the average age of a VW camper owner?

I’m really looking forward to the three days booked in June and now got to decide where to go, the last time a went anywhere near a campsite was probably about 40 odd years ago as a kid with my parents so I’m a complete novice / newbie. I’ve watched quite a few YT videos of the couple from California Time and now Camper Time which has been helpful not only about the actual California but also different sites to go. I‘m guessing that there’s a few different memberships and books you can get for campsites across the UK which I’ll have to look into. Is it best to try and book each site you want to stay at as soon as possible?

The idea of renting one is to make sure that we’re going to enjoy it and if we do buy one next spring. I’ve already spec’d one up and they’re not cheap are they and I can imagine you can go crazy with the accessories too.

Apologies for the long post but I’m really excited and trying to get as much info as possible and I’m sure there’s a lot here, so will enjoy browsing the forum and asking questions etc.

Thanks for having me

Well done. Nothing ventured nothing gained.