• Thread starter mr_waxdope_noodle
  • Start date
M

mr_waxdope_noodle

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 174
Hi All,

I’m still new to Cali. Trying to sort out different issues.

Could you help me with Auxiliary Heater noise please. I’ve attached a video. Is it normal sound? I don’t think so. What could this be and how to fix it?

Thanks!

iCloud video

Shows as video still up loading.

Without seeing it the answer is probably yes it's normal for a T5.
Should be a fair bit of loud ticking noises as the fuel is pumped, a roar as the burner ignites, then a bit of whining from the fan.
Give it a while running & it should settle down to just the fan noise & a regular tick from the pump, interspersed with the occasional ramping up in noise as it realises that your getting a bit cold..

Yeah, this noise isn’t normal. Unfortunately I’m not technical enough to comment any remedial action, but I can confirm that anyway, having seen the video.

The only noise you should hear is a ticking when the heater is firing up and of course, the hot air being blown out.

Good luck.

That sounds more like a pump sucking air than a fan to me? Does the heater actually work?

The heater works, and this ticking sound becomes faster when I increase the speed/level of the heater. Seems like a fan touching something while spinning. Any heater scheme/diagram/drawing to share with me? Hopefully an easy fix.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Shows as video still up loading.

Without seeing it the answer is probably yes it's normal for a T5.
Should be a fair bit of loud ticking noises as the fuel is pumped, a roar as the burner ignites, then a bit of whining from the fan.
Give it a while running & it should settle down to just the fan noise & a regular tick from the pump, interspersed with the occasional ramping up in noise as it realises that your getting a bit cold..

Uploaded

That doesn't sound right.