Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

ASPIRATIONS OF CALI OWNERSHIP

H

Hewsos

Hi,

I've been working out if owning a VW California is a viable option and realistic prospect since we saw a BMVS van at the Goodwood FOS. Camping just does not offer enough comfort/warmth anymore and the packing, re-packing and setting up is very time consuming and restrictive, especially with nowhere to dry out a large sodden canvas tent.

So I am new to the campervan world and forums for that matter actually, sorry if it's not in the right place etc.

I have now decided that a California is a realistic purchase, that we plan to make in summer 2014- some DIY to do before then :sad Which of course leaves me plenty of time to ponder and obsess over the brochures, optional extras, tips and advice on here etc etc. I have soooo many questions, but with 18mths to kill I will try to pace myself.

We are currently planning on:
180ps manual in night blue, crete anthracite
awning
privacy glass
climatronic 3 zone air con
MFSW
Kenwood radio (we want to future proof DAB and brochure says RNS510 isn't available with DAB)
removable tow bar
cruise ctrl
xenons (I don't like being blinded by them either but also would like as much light as poss in dark)
parking senors and reversing camera (might have to be retro fitted I think with Kenwood??)

So the questions if you would be so kind..... Is the reversing camera, necessary/useful and can anyone confirm if the Kenwood on offer as an "Add on" is the dnx521dab please?

Most importantly I suppose, the cali will eventually be our second car for long trips and occasional commute, is it in reality versatile enough for this?

We are planning to hire a van and try it out before buying because when we buy, it will be with a view to keeping it for many years.

Many thanks
Hewsos

Welcome on board. Glad we set the itch in motion at FOS :clap